Academic Calendar

2014 Summer schedule

Students can take Summer courses at AIT in two ways: either independently, during the summer only, or as an extension of the regular Spring Semester in order to receive additional credit. Summer Term is 5-week long offered between May 26 – July 1 2014, beginning one week after the end of the Spring Semester.

Deadline for applications March 1, 2014
Notification of acceptance March 15, 2014
The regular Spring Semester ends May 21, Wednesday
Arrival for participants attending the Summer School only May 23, Friday
Classes begin May 26, Monday
Classes end June 26, Thursday
Major course project evaluation In the afternoon of June 26, Thursday
Exams June 30, Monday
Program ends July 1, Tuesday

2014 Fall Semester

Fall semester starts in early September. An optional intensive language course is offered about two weeks before regular classes begin. Early applications are encouraged.

Deadline for applications is April 1
Notification of acceptance  Within 2 weeks from the receipt of complete application package 
Arrival for participants of the optional language course around August 15, Friday
Optional language course begins August 18, Monday
Optional language course ends September 4, Thursday
Regular arrival between September 2, Tuesday and September 4, Thursday
Orientation period between September 5, Friday and September 7, Sunday
Classes of the fall term begin September 8, Monday
First half-semester between September 8, Monday and October 24, Friday
(observe that October 23, Thursday, is a national holiday in Hungary)
Fall recess begins October 25, Saturday
Last day of fall recess November 2, Sunday
Second half-semester between November 3, Monday and December 12, Friday
Classes of the fall term end December 12, Friday
Exams begin December 15, Monday
Program ends (Final ceremonies) December 17, Wednesday (waiting to leave until Dec. 19 or 20 is suggested)

2015 Spring schedule

Spring semester starts in early February. An optional intensive language course is offered about two weeks before regular classes begin. Early applications are encouraged.

Deadline for applications is: November 1, 2014
Notification of acceptance  Within 2 weeks from the receipt of complete application package
Arrival for participants of the optional language course between January 10, Saturday and January 13, Tuesday
Optional language course begins January 14, Wednesday
Optional language course ends January 30, Friday
Regular arrival between January 27, Tuesday and January 29, Thursday
Orientation period between January 30, Friday and February 1, Sunday
Classes of the spring term begin February 2, Monday
First half-semester between February 2, Monday and March 20, Friday
Spring recess begins March 21, Saturday
Last day of spring recess March 29, Sunday
Second half-semester between March 30, Monday and May 15, Friday
(no classes at April 6, Easter Monday and May 1, Friday, Labor Day)
Classes of the spring term end May 15, Friday
Exams begin May 18, Monday
Program ends May 20, Wednesday